Stale Bread, Stately Bows

today i wake up and realize i only have a few hours left to put all my stuff in boxes, shove those boxes in my car, refinish the wood floor i scratched with my drumset, and then, after half a night’s tossing and turning, move to New Jersey from Michigan.  I wake up and think I should shave my shave my mustache, eat some breakfast and start packing.  but I do not, i open up my laptop, itunes, and put on Elvis Perkins In Dearland, the self titled album from Elvis Perkins in Dearland.  it’s one of those albums which deserves the gravity of the needle drop, and this is coming from some who hates vinyl altogether.   It’s a wonderful album, in a teasing way.  On this album, as opposed to Perkins’ debut, Ash Wedneday, Perkins has gone and mastered the art of set construction.  He’s so good that he numbers all the pages on the fake books on the fake bookshelf in the fake library scene.   The details of these songs are strange but perfect. “Yellow is the color of my true love’s CROSSBOW”  [emphasis mine]

“When the moon buries a sun in the dead sea/it’s the cemetery of the century.”

and even, and especially “Once upon a time/we were happy in the bathtub.”

If words like those weren’t so goddamn solemn, they’d be the perfect set up for a joke you were making up on the fly, and if they weren’t so vivid, they’d be the perfect teardown for a broke down relationship.

The one exception, the one track where we get more than just a set, the one track where she enters, stage left, and sees him dancing on the promenade, unaware of the evil former priest with the shiv in the bushes, is “Send My Fond Regards to Lonelyville,” so I’ll give you that one too.

Hey” and “Send My Fond Regards to Lonelyville” are from Elvis Perkins in Dearland’s self titled album.  Highly, Highly, recommended, this one.

One of the members of his band, drummer Nick Kinsey, is gonna be on the new A.A Bondy album, so that’s another reason to look out for that.

Oh, and about that “interviewing Chris Bathgate” thing.  keep your eyes peeled.

One comment

Leave a Reply

